Report from Calendar Committee–Draft School Year Calendar 2014-15

February 8th, 2014 by Past User

On January 30, the Calendar Committee met to decide on recommendations for the PA and exam days for the 2014-2015 School Calendar. They are as follows:

Professional Activity Days:
Friday October 10, 2014 (Elementary–Parent/Teacher interviews; Secondary–Provincial or District priorities (numeracy, literacy, well-being))
Friday November 14, 2014 (Elementary/Secondary–Provincial or District priorities)
Friday January 16, 2015 (Elementary–Report Card writing)
Friday February 13, 2015 (Elementary/Secondary–Federation day)
Friday, June 5, 2015 (Elementary–Report Card Writing)
June 24, 25, 26, 2015 (Secondary)
Friday, June 26, 2015 (Elementary)

Exams:
Secondary School exam periods: January 26-30 and June 17-23

Factors considered in the recommendations:
Consistency with the co-terminus boards, putting PA days next to weekends to accommodate families, aligning the elementary and secondary PA days where appropriate, ministry recommendations, placement of teacher and staff professional activity to be most effective with implementing district and provincial priorities, and traditional practices and precedent.

At the December OCASC meeting, we approved the recommendations for start and end dates and the Christmas and March Breaks.

Start: Tuesday, Sept 2, 2014
End: Friday, June 26, 2015 (last day of classes for Elementary is Thursday, June 25 and Secondary exams finish Tuesday, June 23)
Christmas Holidays: Monday, December 22 to Friday, January 2, 2015 (inclusive)
March Break: Monday, March 16 to Friday, March 20, 2015 (inclusive)

This information is posted on the board website at http://www.ocdsb.ca/calendar/Pages/default.aspx
It is anticipated that the recommendation will go to Board at the end of February and then a recommended draft to the Ministry in March.

Nadine Clarke

This entry was posted on Saturday, February 8th, 2014 at 11:31 pm and is filed under Meeting Info. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.